Black Heart but a White Soul.

While being in a relationship is important in life, the right kind of friendship is even more crucial. Today, I want to talk about a friend who has been in my life for almost two years now and it’s his birthday. His presence has changed a lot of things completely for better or for worse, believe it or not. I guess that is what being a Bro is all about.

No – not a brother. Brothers are blood relatives. They are multi-faceted: sometimes a nuisance, sometimes a relief. Sometimes an edge between the two. You never know what a brother is for you. He can be a friend, and yet an enemy. He can save you from an angry mother’s wrath, and yet at a different time throw you under the bus driven by the same angry mother.

A Bro is different. A Bro crosses the lines of friendship, close-friendship and best friendship and emerges victorious as your truest companion. You do crazy shit with this Bro. It is you and Bro against the world. Heck, there is a whole Bible of sorts for Bros called the ‘Bro Code’ (by Barney Stinson – patent pending).

I, thankfully, have one in my life. His name, coincidentally (not really), matches partially with the name of this article – Black Heart*.

Although the name doesn’t really suit him, the story behind it is one of the many reasons why he is my Bro. I mean, we have succeeded in doing a lot of crazy shit together. Trust me – we have made a fool of one another so many times that I can’t even begin to fathom … We have been through so much, have faced so many difficulties in our own lives. But then again, we have also have stuck with each other with complete discipline… just like Bros should.

The funny thing is, we know each other because of a common liking for a TV show. Of all the ways we could meet, a TV show (called How I Met Your Mother) is what made us Bros. Our paths crossed solely because we were big nerds with respect to a sitcom! And since then, we have had a wild ride.

An awesome friend, Black Heart has managed to help me through the rough, support me through the thick, bitch-slap me appropriately through the thin and all-in-all been a great friend. Not only that, but he has also managed to do so with utmost sincerity and transparency. And with the rising number of back-stabbers, liars and pretentious friends, he is truly a gem.

I always value friendship. I do my best to nurture my friendships. Sometimes, I fail. I am not ashamed to admit I make mistakes. But guess what? Only true friends stick around. And Black Heart is one of them.

And you want to know the funny thing? The most ironic thing? The strangest of facts about this awesome friendship between us? We live in – wait for it –  different states and have – wait for it – never met in person.

It is intriguing, really. How can a person, who I have never physically interacted with, have more of a presence in my life than a people who already are? Because of a missed opportunity and dumb luck, we are yet to meet. But guess what? If a virtual friendship is this exemplary, then meeting him in person would be ambrosial… Impeccable… Flawless…

For obvious reasons, I cannot name him. Nor can I reveal more. Privacy is important. But Black Heart, if you are reading this – and I know you are, else I wouldn’t be making a post about it – a very Happy Birthday to you.

You have been a perfect friend, an inspiration in ways you cannot imagine and a truly White Soul.

Cheers!

*mine was White Scar. Yuck, I know.


Hi!
This is a very special post, dedicated to a very special friend. Hope he likes it!
Love,
K.


As always, if any of it made you smile, laugh, frown or giggle like a little baby, comment share and like! To be up-to-date with my other posts, give a like to my Facebook page and follow on Twitter if you use it! Any images used are either taken from Google Images or from my own personal collection or other sources which will be mentioned if and when, unless stated otherwise. Contact me if you want it removed.

 

Leave a Reply

