‘I’ll be there for you…’ – A dedicated post for my oldest friends!

Update: Part 2 of my earlier post will be up soon. The getting Up part of life, once you have fallen Down, is a lengthy topic to discuss. So expect it by this week’s end. Hope you have a lovely night!

KAMNA Group

You thought this would be an HD pic. You were wrong.

‘I’ll be there for you…’ – A dedicated post for my oldest friends!

I don’t know why but they always depict friendship as a group of 4 to 6 friends, chatting on about their life around a table every hour of every day. If it is not real, then it is via cellphones. If it is not via cafes or ice cream shops, then it is via Whatsapp. There is always a sense of lies in those depictions. Because friendships are never like that. It is nowhere near the form that friendship takes in FRIENDS or How I Met Your Mother or Seinfeld or… you know what I mean by now.

They say true friendships stand the test of time. The untrue ones crumble on the first draft of wind. Backstabbers sharpen their knives on the whetstones. Unstable friends jump off the friendship’s Roof of Stability. One friend always seems to mess it up. If not, there is always a difference of opinion that does it. Wherever I go, I see pretentious people trying to gossip and spread rumours.

I often find myself with one question: Does real friendship exist? Is a true friend too hard to find in these troubled times? Is there no hope for a person like me, who has a habit of keeping a few close friends rather than a cluster of crappy, fake and pretentious gossipers who can’t be trusted?

Yes.

There is always THE group that exists in my life, that I am blessed with, to remind me the simple, wonderful answer: Yes.

The Group, the unofficial collection of my dear multi-faceted friends, was formed at a young age. I hear that it existed before I joined it.

I remember the time as if it were nine years ago. One day, I got up and realized that the only friend in my building who was of my age had left forever. And I was maybe eternally stuck with oldies in my building. I was small and innocent. I had a sliver of hope that maybe these oldies, these senior citizens with chronic back pains and thousands of illnesses, would perhaps forget their boring old life and play with me. I didn’t mind, but I was too innocent.

Then one day, by chance, luck or destiny, I was invited to the neighbouring colony by one of my cousins, whose existence I knew not till that point. He was of my age, and we clicked. He introduced me to his friends, and BINGO the Group was formed. Or rather, I joined the already formed group. They were brutally kind and accepted me as if they knew me since my birth. It was a wonderful feeling.

It was an amazing childhood. Small things ranging from jealousy to attraction (there were girls in the group too) to common interests became important.

The boys of the group were competitive with each other, the girls were busy in their own worlds. We would compete in silly things like small tests, to big things like a race in the open ground (that alas exists only in the memory).

As we grew up, I knew we were growing apart. Each of us was in different schools, girls were girls so they separated once puberty hit and the rest three or four of us were the remaining scraps of THE group that remained. It was a difficult time for us, since we did not know if our friendship would last. Tenth standard came and went and we separated further as we joined different colleges.

And I had decided that perhaps my little group of amazing friends was at an end, as much as my childhood was.

It is 2015, I am doing Third Year Engineering and I can safely say that THE group still exists.

“Some things have to fall apart to make way for better things,” they say but in this scenario, perhaps nothing was better.

Sure, our friendship, the bond between these awesome dudes that made my otherwise lonely childhood into a breathtakingly beautiful memory to cherish, may not be as strong as it had been, but ‘hey!’ You have to grow up sometime. And moments like these is when I feel that I am blessed to have friends like them.

Dedicated to my childhood friends, the insanely cool companions of the Kamna Group: Sid, Ron, Aki, Sailee, Tan etc…!!!

As always, if any of it made you smile, laugh, frown or giggle like a little baby, comment share and like! To be up-to-date with my other posts, give a like to my Facebook page and follow on Twitter if you use it! Any images used are either taken from Google Images or from my own personal collection. Contact me if you want to remove it. 

Leave a Reply

