The ATKT Deadlock

The ATKT Deadlock

By Kunal Nayak

Author’s Note:

Hey guys!

First of all, THANKS TO EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU! The last post (which was a poll) was absolutely kicked into gear by the readers and many of you voted sincerely! I am loving the support you guys are giving me!

I just wanted to know what your feelings are regarding the KT system in the Indian Education system. Of course, when I ask you for your opinion on this, I don’t mean to say “Do you like it?” cuz of course you will! It gives you a sense of security regarding your future right? HOWEVER, my question is straight to you: In a long term scenario, do you think it’s ideal to keep this KT system? 

Again, I am not at all biased towards the system since it has helped many of my friends in the past and besides, dropping a year sucks! So do give your comments, thoughts and views on this matter! 

Also, do comment about the post itself and vote in the poll. Let’s see how many vote in it!!

Lots of Love,

Kunal

Originally, this post was going to be ‘What is the reason behind ATKT?‘ but too many of my posts (like all two of them) are framed as a question so why not something different this time, right? And this is a very interesting realization I stumbled upon.

Before I go any further, let me first explain you what the hell an ATKT is, although most of the readers (including me!) will have had some experience in that matter!

Allowed to keep terms (ATKT)[1] is a process in the Indian education system to allow students of pre-graduation and graduation to study in next grade if they have failed 1 to 4 subjects. The students must pass the papers they failed before entering into to next grade. For example, if a first-year bachelor’s degree student fails to get passing marks in his four subjects, the student must pass those subjects before entering third year, while the student can study in second year.”-Wikipedia

This means that if you do fail in one to four subjects in any ONE of the semesters, you are allowed to be a part of the next semester whilst trying to pass in those subjects, or “clear the KT”, along with the new subjects! I know, it sounds a lot complicated. And trust me, it really is.

But my thought is very simple…but confusing: You perform less well, because you have the option of Keeping Term or KTs. You get KTs for performing less well. So then that means that because we have an assurance of not COMPLETELY failing the whole year and dropping it because of KT, we don’t take the exams as seriously as we should. However, if they remove the ATKT system because of this, students will no longer have a backup when they do fail and this will ruin their lives.

So then what do we do in such a situation? This, my fellow friends, is a classic example of a real-life deadlock!

I think we should focus on a solution to this. I mean, there must be SOME way to avoid destruction of Engineering student’s lives!!!

What do you guys think should be done? Should the ATKT system be removed and thrown away or still be kept?

Another poll, just for you guys 😛

It would be fantastic if you guys could give YOUR opinions down in the comments below! Its really simple and you can even post the comments anonymously! Also, this is a serious issue. We go through this horrible feeling of ‘getting a KT’ everyday and something must be done. But how do we do it? By removing  it or keeping it?

Edit:

So one of our readers gave a very insightful view on this subject:

The part where you said that ATKTs make people complacent about their exams could not make me agree more! But sometimes its not always that complacence but some sheer mistakes that lead to these KTs and then I got to asking myself this question : Is a little mistake is so badly punishable to waste a whole year and maybe leave a stigma for the rest of your future? And that made me say, NO, KTs should not be removed!” 

And I could not have agreed more! People don’t get KTs just out of laziness or just because (as I put it):

“[…]we don’t take the exams as seriously as we should.”

Sometimes, people genuinely find the exams difficult or have some other problems. In those scenarios, yes KT system should remain. But what about other cases? That is what I want to know from you guys! Do give me your views on that!

Please leave a comment and share this post if it brought a smile, frown or laughter to your face! Most images are taken from Google.

One thought on “The ATKT Deadlock

  1. The part where you say that ATKTs make people complacent about their exams could not make me agree more! But sometimes its not always that complacence but some sheer mistakes that lead to these KTs and then I got to asking myself this question : Is a little mistake is so badly punishable to waste a whole year and maybe leave a stigma for the rest of your future? And that made me say, NO, KTs should not be removed!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

